When it rains, look for rainbows

A story of how to find the good when bad things happen

Marilyn Tam
3 min readJun 5, 2024

--

Woman with upraised hand receiving a rainbow coming down from the sky
Look for the rainbows which are shining when things look bleak.

In the last year, six dearly beloved and influential people in my life died. First, my adventure buddy dies. Candis, who cycled around the big island of Hawaii with me in a week, was my diving partner in Grand Cayman, my fellow explorer all around China, and who initiated me in cross country skiing by leading me CC skiing across the frozen Lake Champlain from Vermont to New York and back in one afternoon. Died. Too young, too soon.

Arun Gandhi, inspiration, mentor, decades long friend died. Arun, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi, was a board member and enthusiastic supporter of my nonprofit, Us Foundation, who by example and in words, encouraged me to further conditions for peace. The world lost a leader of nonviolence and I have a hole in my heart.

Arun Gandhi, sharing in a video interview with me about his life mission of NonViolence

Bill Brand, Redondo Beach Mayor, community leader, pioneering surfer and my husband’s best friend died. He was the best man at our wedding and a steadfast sounding board for us both. Died.

--

--

Marilyn Tam

Marilyn Tam, global speaker, best selling author (The Happiness Choice), business leader and humanitarian. Formerly the CEO of Aveda, President Reebok, VP Nike